Daikon “Steaks”

November 9, 2013 at 12:39 am (Cruciferous rich, East and SE Asia, unrated, Website / blog)


Kimdo, a local Japanese restaurant here in Saarbruecken, has a braised daikon steak dish that I really like. I thought I’d try to make something similar at home. I started out with this recipe from the Nobu Vegetarian cookbook. I didn’t make the salsa topping, but I did cook the tofu in kombu broth. I screwed up the second step, however. I was supposed to add mirin, salt, and pepper to the kombu broth, bring the liquid back to a simmer, and then let the daikon cool down in the broth. But I just added the mirin to the already cold broth, which was clearly a mistake. Also I don’t think that I cooked the daikon quite long enough. The final daikon ended up being a tad too raw tasting and underseasoned, but still pretty tasty. I definitely want to keep working on this recipe!

One interesting idea for next time: This blog suggests boiling the daikon in “rice water,” i.e., the cloudy water drained of rice when you’re rinsing it before cooking. It says that the rice water takes some of the bitterness out of the daikon. Here’s another recipe that has you add rice to the braising liquid.

1 Comment

  1. austingardener said,

    who knew I could use the leaves!
    Although they are often sold without their tops at Asian market, the entire plant is edible. Usually Japanese stores sell whole daikon including leaves, and one cant chop the leaves into small pieces and add to Miso Soup

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

