Apple Mustard Tempeh

December 3, 2006 at 12:17 am (B_, Peter Berley, Quick weeknight recipe, Tempeh)


This recipe makes a great sandwich filling. Just spread your bread with tahini or mustard, and top with sauerkraut and lettuce. It’s based on a recipe in Peter Berley’s Modern Vegetarian Kitchen.

  • 1 pound tempeh (2 packages)
  • 1 1/3 cups apple juice or apple cider
  • 1/4 cup olive oil (originally 1/3 cup)
  • 3 Tbs. soy sauce
  • 3 Tbs. whole grain prepared mustard
  • 1 tsp. ground caraway seeds
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp. freshly milled black pepper
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix all the ingredients except the tempeh in a 9 x 13 inch baking pan.
  3. Slice each block of tempeh in half crosswise, then slice each piece in half through its width to make thin pieces for sandwiches.
  4. Place the tempeh in a single layer in the baking pan. Tilt the pan to coat each piece with marinade. Bake, uncovered, for 35 to 40 minutes, until the marinade has been almost completely absorbed.
  5. To serve, spread whole wheat bread with tahini or mustard. Top with one slice of tempeh, sauerkraut, and lettuce.

Yields: 8 sandwiches.

My Notes:

I decreased the oil slightly (from 1/3 cup). Next time I think I’ll use only 3 Tbs, as the recipe is pretty high fat, even with the bread. I also eliminated a step in which the tempeh was steamed, and mixed the marinade directly in the baking dish to avoid dirtying a bowl. I might increase the caraway a bit as well, as I love caraway.

When eating the leftovers I couldn’t taste much mustard or sweet? Does it need more mustard and cider?

Rating: B

Update December 1, 2009:

Now that apple cider is finally available in the farmer’s market, I made this recipe again.  I can’t recall how much olive oil I used, but the final dish ended up very tasty.  It did take substantially longer than 40 minutes for the marinade to cook down.  Derek was not happy about me making this recipe.  I tried to convince him that he liked it but for some reason he got it in head that he didn’t.  I knew he liked it, and I was vindicated after he tasted it.  We ate the tempeh plain for lunch and both of us enjoyed it a lot.  It’s a tiny bit too strong for me to eat plain, but I like the flavors a lot.  It’s even better on a sandwich with sauerkraut.

I also tried making it once in a skillet on the stovetop, and it came out better than it ever had before.  Everyone loved it.

Update March 2010:

I made a double batch with two 14-ounce packs of tempeh, cut widthwise into thirds.  I had too much tempeh for my big 17×9? pyrex dish, so I had to layer some of the tempeh slices on top of each other.  I cut the soy sauce to 1.5 Tbs., and I might have cut the oil too.  After 40 minutes the dish was still full of liquid–it didn’t seem like the sauce had reduced at all.  Only the tempeh in the top layer had browned at all.  I should have put it back in the oven to cook some more, but the tempeh was soft and I was impatient.   It didn’t taste sweet enough or mustardy enough (maybe because I cut the soy sauce?).  Derek ate it once but then wouldn’t eat it again.

1 Comment

  1. Back to normal life « The captious vegetarian said,

    […] tempeh, apple-mustard or […]

Leave a Reply

