Avocado Ideas

January 11, 2007 at 4:24 am (My brain, Quick weeknight recipe, Uncategorized, unrated)


It seems so silly. I’m always lusting after avocados, and here I am with two avocados sitting in the fridge, perfectly ripe, maybe even heading past ripe, and no idea what to do with them!

Normally I eat avocado (or guacamole) with pinto beans or black beans. But I’m out of both of those beans. I like avocado mixed with greens like chard, but I don’t have any greens either. I love avocados in salad, but I have no lettuce or other salad-type ingredients. And that’s it–that’s my avocado repertoire. I clearly need more ideas for a food as scrumptilicious as avocado.

I called my mom and she said to mash the avocado and spread it on toast, then sprinkle with salt. I did that, and it was quite tasty, then I remembered some sage I had lolling about in the fridge. I tore it up and added it to my “sandwich.” Yum. Delish. Excellent.

Later I dug out a tortilla from the freezer, and some overcooked black eyed peas (20 hours in a crockpot yields a very carmelized tasting pea). I made a “burrito” with 1/4 cup black eyes, 1/4 of an avocado, 3 sage leaves, and salsa. Wow, it hit the spot. The burrito was reminiscint of the vegan burrito from Kiva Han (a local coffee shop), but much, much better.

I just searched my blog for avocado and found stuffed hashbrowns, spring rolls, and hominy and tomatillo stew. I’m out of hominy/tomatillos, but I am definitely making some stuffed hashbrowns for breakfast. I have spring roll wrappers but no cabbage or mushrooms… Maybe I can improvise?

I’m still open for more avocado ideas. I have another 1.5 avocados that desperately need to get eaten.

Today I tried a “pizza”: Muir Glen pizza sauce on a blue corn tortilla topped with avocado slices. It was tasty, but not stellar.

I’ve gotten some responses offline:

  • avocado pudding with cream and sugar (or soymilk and honey?)
  • on a veggie or bean burger
  • avocado banana yogurt soup
  • nori rolls
  • diced, with grapefruit (and a dressing?)
  • in an omelette, or on toast with a poached egg
  • a banana avocado smoothie
4 Comments

  1. AO said,

    straight up!
    cut in half.
    remove pit.
    Sprinkle with sea salt and course ground black pepper.
    Drizzle equal amounts of balsamic and extra virgin olive oil
    eat with a spoon.
    AO

  2. captious said,

    I don’t know. Adding olive oil to an avocado seems just a bit… excessive? But the pepper and vinegar sound good.

  3. liz said,

    If you have any cilantro chutney in your fridge (Swad brand, available in ethnic groceries, is very good — homemade is even better), you can make a great Indian “guacamole” in under a minute. Mash the avocado, add a good dollop of the chutney and an extra squeeze of lime juice, and you’re done. This is wonderful just as a snack with chips, carrots or flatbread, or as a chutney with other Indian food.

  4. Romy said,

    on toast with melted cheese on top!!! u can also put vegemite on the toast if u like…sounds weird but is strangly satisfying

Leave a Reply

