Sushi beets

January 12, 2008 at 1:34 am (My brain, Root vegetables, Starches, unrated, Vegetable dishes)


I love avocado rolls, but even more than the rolls, I love the holy Japanese trinity of wasabi, soy sauce, and pickled ginger. (Note: don’t confuse the holy trinity with the vegan triumvurate.) In search of a dish to make at home that would be simpler than avocado rolls, I came up with the brilliant idea for sushi beets. The sweetness of the beets is almost, but not quite drowned out by the strong Japanese flavors, but the silky texture is a surprisingly good base for these condiments. This isn’t so much as recipe as it is a cooking concept:

  • beets, boiled or roasted, peeled, and sliced
  • soy sauce
  • wasabi paste
  • pickled ginger
  • lime juice or rice vinegar (to represent the vinegar in the sushi rice)

If you want to make this even more reminiscent of a maki roll, you could garnish with toasted nori strips.

1 Comment

  1. captious said,

    I made this dressing this evening. It made enough for about 8 small side salads.

    1 Tbs. wasabi powder
    1 tsp. water
    2 tsp. soy sauce
    3 Tbs. brown rice vinegar
    1 tsp. sesame oil
    2 Tbs. peanut oil
    1/2 Tbs. sugar

    I think I used slightly too much oil. Next time I’d use only 1 Tbs. + 1/2 tsp. peanut oil. I couldn’t taste the wasabi even after adding a tablespoon. Maybe mine was old?

    In the salad I put lettuce, diced beets, pickled ginger, and a bit of avocado. I garnished the salad with strips of nori and toasted brown sesame seeds. I tried adding cold short-grain brown rice but it was too dry and tough.

    The salad came out well. The dressing really complemented the beets nicely. I mostly couldn’t taste the nori strips, but Derek said he thought they were sometimes a bit tough.

Leave a Reply

