Greek Baked Tofu with Dill and Mustard

February 17, 2008 at 3:27 pm (B plus, Baked tofu, Derek's faves, Peter Berley, Quick weeknight recipe, Tofu)


I recently tried the recipe for Italian baked tofu in Vegan with a Vengeance, and wasn’t a huge fan. I still want a good recipe for a flavorful baked tofu that can be used for sandwiches, so I decided to try this Greek-style marinade from Modern Vegetarian Kitchen by Peter Berley.

Here is the original recipe multiplied by 3, with notes based on our dinner on June 12, 2016:

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 small red onions, thinly sliced (we would try 2 onions next time)
  • 9 Tbs. olive oil (we used 5 Tbs., but would try 4 Tbs. next time)
  • 6 Tbs. white wine vinegar (we used red wine vinegar)
  • 6 Tbs. dry white wine
  • 6 Tbs. finely chopped fresh dill (we used frozen, but next time I’d use 1/2 cup)
  • 3 Tbs. whole-grain mustard (we used dijon)
  • 3 Tbs. mild honey
  • 1.5-2 tsp. fine salt (original recipe calls for 4.5 tsp. coarse salt)
  • 1.5 tsp. coarsely milled black pepper (we reduced this for Alma)
  • 3 pounds firm tofu, sliced 1/2 inch thick (we sliced each block into about 8 or 9 pieces, each about 1/3 inch thick)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Place the tofu slices in a single (but snug) layer in your largest baking pan.  Distribute the onion rings evenly over the tofu.
  3. In a bowl, combine the oil, vinegar, wine, dill, mustard, honey, salt and pepper.  Pour the marinade over the tofu and onions.
  4. Bake for 45 minutes, or until the tofu is nearly dry and well browned.
  5. Serve hot or cold.

Notes from June 12, 2016:

We used about 2.5 tsp. fine salt and the tofu came out very salty. Derek liked it but it was a bit too salty for me. Next time we want to try maybe 1.75 tsp. of salt.

I also found it not acidic enough. I’d like to try increasing the vinegar and dill amounts, but I don’t want to make too many changes at once, so I think next time we’ll just cut back on the oil and salt a bit, and up the onion a little, and see how it turns out.

Notes from original post:

I didn’t have fresh dill so I used frozen dill from the freezer (I froze it last summer, but it was pretty easy to just scoop out a few Tablespoons full). I didn’t have white wine vinegar so used white balsamic vinegar. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I really liked the flavors. I was quite surprised to discover that I couldn’t taste the individual flavors that much, not even the dill. Instead, the flavors all melded together into a single flavor which I’ll call “Greek” for lack of a better word. The only change I’d make is to reduce the salt, as I found the tofu a bit too salty when eating it plain, although I didn’t notice the saltiness when using the tofu as a sandwich filling.

I tried to make this recipe for Derek when I visited him in Germany last week, but I hadn’t posted the recipe yet, so I had to try to remember it. I remembered everything but the white wine and the honey, and I used red wine vinegar instead of white wine vinegar, and added soy sauce by mistake. It was still reasonably tasty but definitely not as good, and not nearly as cohesive. I think the wine is essential, otherwise the tofu ends up tasting too vinegary.  Also, the soy sauce veers too much towards Asian rather than mediterranean.

I really like this tofu as a sandwich filling, especially with avocado and julienned carrots. If you don’t have avocado then substitute something else moist and rich, maybe a little cheese or olives or tomato and soy mayo. If you don’t have carrots find something else to fill in the crunch factor, maybe fresh cucumbers or radishes or julienned celery root or bean sprouts.

5 Comments

  1. Peter Berley said,

    Hello,

    glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed my little Greek style tofu recipe. I am going to Germany
    next November as a guest chef at The Lust Auf Genuss International Culinary Festival
    in Stutgardt. I am wondering how the vegetarian scene is there?

    thanks,

    best wishes to you

    PB

  2. Mediterranean Baked Tofu and Crazy Sexy Quinoa Salad « said,

    […] mediterranean baked tofu (original recipe here) […]

  3. storiesformysister said,

    we did this as a filling for souvlaki-style tortilla wraps with tzatziki and tomatoes, it was DEE-LISH.
    Peter Berley’s book was my bible when I was learning to cook vegetarian and I still love to refer to it for ideas and great, original recipes that always turn out well.

  4. Lisa Grand said,

    This tofu recipe has become a weekly standard in our vegetarian/vegan home. I always make a double batch and use the leftovers for all kinds of things. Thank you. It is simply brilliant.

    • captious said,

      Hi Lisa,

      When you make a double batch, what size pan do you use?

      Thanks,
      captious

Leave a Reply

