Millet and vegetable pilaf

June 13, 2010 at 3:18 pm (C, Grains, Peter Berley, Salads)


This recipe is from Peter Berley’s Modern Vegetarian Kitchen and the head note just cracks me up.  Berley calls millet a “curmudgeonly uncle” who needs a good deal of “buttering up”.  I’ve always liked the dry austerity of millet, but I’m sure Derek would agree with Berley’s description.You saute carrots, onion, celery, and garlic in a mixture of olive oil and butter, then add the (pre-toasted) millet seeds and water.  When the pilaf is done cooking you stir in lemon juice, parsley, and salt.  I tasted it at that point and did not care for the dish at all.  The sauteed vegetables just tasted too limp and… cooked.  I would have preferred to have crisp carrot and onion and celery pieces in a sort of grain salad.  I suppose there is room in the world for a hot millet pilaf, but this recipe didn’t cut it for me.

I set about trying to salvage the dish.  I ended up somewhere close to Berley’s quinoa salad recipe.  I added sliced radishes, jalepeno, corn kernels, sherry vinegar, cilantro, and some toasted seeds.   The cooked veggies were still unpleasant to my palate, but the dish tasted significantly better.

Original recipe rating:  C

2 Comments

  1. Kelley said,

    Another dud. That sucks. I am sure that your next recipe will be awesome, unless it goes in threes. Sigh……

    I tired Peter Berley’s Three Sister Stew with Corn Dumplings a couple of weeks ago and both of us loved it.

    • captious said,

      I haven’t tried that recipe yet. I’ll have to look it up.

Leave a Reply

