Melon and potato soup

July 8, 2011 at 10:17 pm (F, Other, soup, Starches, Summer recipes)


This recipe’s combination of melon and potato is unusual, and I was curious what it would taste like.  Victoria Wise, the author of the Mexican Vegetarian Table cookbook, says the flavors “meld together in a delectable, smooth soup that stands out as an example of how the old and the new merge in a surprising and pleasing way, as they so often do in Mexico.”  Sounds appealing, right?

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds (for garnish)
  • 1 1/2 pounds russet potatoes, peeled and coarsely chopped into 1/2-inch dice
  • 4 cups milk
  • 1 serrano chili, stemmed and halved
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 medium cantaloupe, halved, seeds removed, pulp scooped out
  • 1 lime, cut into 6 thin rounds
Instructions (my own slightly less detailed version)
  1. Toast the almonds and then coarsely chop them.
  2. Simmer the potatoes for about 15 minutes in a partially covered pot with the milk, chili pepper, and salt, until the potatoes are almost disintegrating.
  3. Puree the potato mixture with the melon pulp.
  4. Reheat the soup.  Garnish with chopped almonds and a slice of lime.
My notes:
We don’t get serranos here so I used another fresh green chili.
I used a 4 quart pot but I had trouble keeping the milk at a simmer without it boiling over the pan.  After 15 minutes my potatoes were not anywhere close to disintegrating.  I cooked them and cooked them but they just wouldn’t soften up enough.
The author warns that if you get any of the green part next to the melon rind the soup will be unpleasantly bitter.  I tried to avoid the green part but I guess I didn’t manage it completely because oh man was this soup bitter.  It basically tasted like a nice sweet cantaloupe, a hint of green chili, and a whole lot of bitterness.  I couldn’t taste the potatoes but I guess they made the soup thick.  But I couldn’t get over the bitterness and I had to throw the whole pot of soup away.  Maybe if I hadn’t gotten the bitter part of the melon the soup would have been good, but I kind of doubt it.  In any case, I don’t think I’ll try it again.  My melon was so tasty and I was so annoyed that I wasted the whole thin on this soup!

Leave a Reply

