Whole grain pasta with salsa cruda

August 23, 2011 at 9:51 pm (B_minus, Italian, Pasta, Peter Berley, Sauce/dressing, Starches, Summer recipes)


It’s finally gotten hot in Saarbruecken, so I decided to make this uncooked pasta sauce from the Summer section of Peter Berley’s Fresh Food Fast.  The sauce is made of raw, chopped tomatoes, olive oil, parsley, basil, chives, balsamic vinegar, and minced garlic.  

Berley says to blanch, peel, and seed the tomatoes, discarding the seeds and pulp.  After peeling the tomatoes they were no longer a lusty red, but rather a wan pink color.  They weren’t nearly so appetizing.  And it turned out that tossing the seeds and pulp is a bad idea, since that’s where all the tomato flavor is.  Luckily my friend Ahra saved the pulp.  I ended up adding it back to the dish, and I found it much tastier that way.

I didn’t like this recipe that much.  I thought the sauce looked and tasted wan.  Maybe my tomatoes were not the most tasty tomatoes, but they are about the best I can get here.  The strong parsley flavor, while interesting, dominated the mild tomatoes.

Derek liked the sauce more than me.  He said it tasted like bruschetta topping.  I guess I agree with him, but I generally find the tomato topping on bruschetta to be kind of … wan?  Maybe I just don’t like peeled and seeded tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

