Mexican quiche

March 19, 2012 at 10:59 pm (B plus, Necessarily nonvegan, Quick weeknight recipe) ()


When I was in high school I used to love going to parties at my best friend’s house. Her mom (Diane) would always cook up a huge amount of delicious finger foods, most of which I’d never had before.  Three of my favorites were spanakopita, stuffed grape leaves, and what she called “mexican quiche”.  Last summer I finally asked Diane for the recipe for the quiche.  It’s surprisingly simple.

Ingredients:

  • 10 eggs
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • two 4 oz. cans diced chilis [original recipe just called for one can]
  • 2 to 3 jalapenos, minced (about 40g) [original recipe doesn’t call for any]
  • 1 pint cottage cheese (I used 4% fat cheese with less salt than in American brands)
  • 14 oz. of strong, hard cheeses like aged gruyere or cheddar [original recipe called for 1 lb. grated monterey jack cheese]

Instructions:

  • Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Butter a 9- by 13-inch pyrex pan.
  • Beat eggs, add everything else and mix well. Pour into buttered pan.
  • Bake at 400 (385 if you have a convection oven) for 10 minutes. Lower temperature to 350 (335 with a convection oven) and bake 20 to 25 minutes until light brown on top.  [Original recipe said to bake at higher temperature for 15 minutes and lower temperature for 35-40 minutes.]
  • Freezes well.

My notes:

I made this quiche (according to the original recipe) for the first time last fall.  I can’t get monterey jack here so I used a mix of a mild gouda and some mild fresh French cheese.  I also added one minced jalapeno for a little heat.  It ended up quite brown on top.  Derek liked the less browned parts, so maybe 35 minutes is too long in my oven.  The chili flavor came through well, and the quiche was tasty, but it was just a tad boring tasting. Maybe my tastes have changed since high school.  I wonder what else I could add to make the flavor more complex.  An herb? Some red pepper? Maybe serve it with a green chili sauce on top? Also the quiche was a tad too salty for me. Maybe next time I should use a little less cheese, esp. cottage cheese?

Update March 2012:  I made this recipe again tonight, but I used two cans of diced chilis (along with the one jalapeno) and stronger cheeses (a mix of aged gruyere, aged cheddar, and some kind of strong, slightly stinky cheese from the bio store).  But I didn’t have quite enough cheese so I only put in about 14 ounces, rather than the 16 ounces the recipe calls for.  I also cut the temperature down by about 15 degrees (since I have a fan in my oven–convection??) and only cooked the quiche for about 30 minutes.  It still got quite browned on top but the texture was more moist than last time.  The stronger cheeses and extra chilis helped.  The quiche definitely wasn’t boring tasting this time.  It still wasn’t spicy though.  Next time I think I’ll use two or three jalapenos.

Update July 2012: I made this quiche with two cans of diced green chilis (Trader Joe’s brand) and two jalapenos (including seeds), but it didn’t turn out at all spicy.  Next time I’ll try three fresh jalapenos.  I used about 13-14 ounces of a mix of different cheddars (a milder one and a sharp aged one), but I forgot to put the cottage cheese in!  Surprisingly, the quiche didn’t seem all that different.  It was noticeably less salty, but still salty enough. (Derek didn’t even notice that there was less salt, or that anything was different.)  It was also a bit shorter, and perhaps a bit less creamy in texture.  But still tasty.  So if you don’t have cottage cheese go ahead and try the recipe without it.

Update March 2013:  I’ve made this quiche with chard twice now, but today I didn’t have any chard so I decided to use frozen chopped spinach instead. I used two cans of chilis, no jalapenos, stronger cheeses, and no chard but 14 oz frozen spinach.  I defrosted the spinach in the microwave before mixing it in.  The quiche came out pretty well, although I missed the jalapenos and it could have had a bit more spinach.  Next time I’ll try 16 or 18 ounces.

Update May 2016: I made this with 1 pound of frozen spinach, which I finely chopped in the food processor. I separated out a bit of the batter before adding the jalapenos, and made a small not-too-spicy ramekin-sized quiche for Alma. She liked it on her first try, although I thought it was a bit too salty for a baby. There’s no added salt though, so  I’m not sure how to cut down on the salt. If only I could get low salt cottage cheese here😦 On subsequent days, however, she was mostly uninterested. I’m not sure why.

Rating: B+
Derek: B+

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size: 1/16 of recipe
Amount Per Serving
% Daily Value*
Calories
202
10%
Total Fat
13g
21%
Saturated Fat
7g
37%
Sodium
355mg
15%
Total Carbohydrate
5g
2%
Dietary Fiber
0g
1%
Sugars
1g
0%
Protein
16g
31%
Vitamin A
9%
Vitamin C
8%
Calcium
28%
Iron
6%

2 Comments

  1. laparadiddle said,

    Hi! I found a potato salad on your blog that was just was I was looking for! These recipes are great, thank you!

  2. What I’ve been eating lately « The captious vegetarian said,

    […] Diane’s Mexican Quiche, except not Mexican.  I left out the green chilis and jalapenos and instead added a pound of chard.  It came out quite well.  One pound of chard was perfect.  But next time I think I will try the chilis and jalapenos and the chard. […]

Leave a Reply

