My favorite raw veggies and accompanying dips

May 13, 2013 at 8:16 pm (unrated, Vegetable dishes)

To use up the vegan cashew “cream cheese” I made last week, I’ve been eating  a lot of raw veggies (or crudité, if you prefer the more sophisticated French term).  A number of my friends have been surprised at some of the veggies I like to eat raw, so I thought I’d share a list with my blog readers.

First of all, there are the obvious veggies that I think almost everyone would consider eating raw:

  • carrots (Fresh ones shouldn’t be bitter, if they are then use them for cooking or you can peel them, as the bitterness is just in the skin.)
  • celery (I usually cook with the outer stalks and save the tender inner stalks for eating raw.)
  • tomatoes (especially cherry tomatoes—yum)
  • cucumbers (I prefer the smaller crisper ones, but slices of the larger, softer ones are also nice.)
  • radishes (I like both the little round red ones and the larger kinds like Daikon.)
  • cauliflower
  • broccoli (But I rarely eat it raw, as I much prefer it cooked.)
  • bell peppers, esp. red ones
  • sugar snap peas or snow peas
  • jicama (But sadly I can’t get it here in Germany.)

Less commonly eaten raw, or at least as part of a crudite platter:

  • fennel (One of my favorites.  I love it braised, but it has a great texture and taste when eaten raw.)
  • Belgian endive (It’s great for dipping, and not nearly as bitter raw as it is when it’s cooked.  You can break off individual leaves but I usually just eat it from the pointy tip down to the base.)
  • green beans (Germans think that they’re poisonous when uncooked.  I looked it up and apparently they do contain high concentrations of lectins, which may be harmful when consumed in large quantities.)
  • white mushrooms (Apparently these can also contain a toxin—called agaratine—that cooking destroys.  It seems to be unknown to what extent this is really a problem, but to be on the safe side probably don’t eat raw mushrooms in large quantities.)

Some others that I often eat raw in salads but have not yet tried to use for dipping:

  • turnips (The little white ones have an amazing texture when raw, and a very mild taste.)
  • zucchini (It’s particularly nice shaved into thin strips with a vegetable peeler.)
  • beets (Usually grated in a salad–I’ve never tried thin slices.)
  • celery root (Usually grated in a salad)
  • cabbage (napa or regular green or red)

What did I miss?  What other vegetables do you like to eat raw?  And what are some of your favorite things to dip raw veggies into?

Here are a few (non-dressing) dip ideas from my blog:

What are your favorite veggie dips or spreads?


  1. Jenny said,

    Homemade tahini with garlic and lemon! It’s my favorite summer snack! My favorite way to scoop it up is with belgian endive leaves, but I also love eating it with tiny cucumbers.

  2. Jenny said,

    Romesco may have knocked tahini out of the game!

    • captious said,

      Do you have a recipe for romesco Jenny?

      • Jenny said,

        I used this simplified one as a base, but roasted my own peppers and tweaked it based on a handful of other popular recipes:

        I added hazelnuts and used sherry vinegar instead of red wine.

        Based on some of the versions I’ve had before, I haven’t quite hit my ideal recipe yet, but it’s still really good, and I think it will be a good foundation for further adjustments.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

