Chilean cabbage and avocado slaw

May 25, 2014 at 7:50 pm (B_minus, Cruciferous rich, Salads, South American, Vegetable dishes, Website / blog)


I needed to bring a salad to an Argentinian barbecue, but I wasn’t feeling so well, and wanted something quick and easy. I settled on this recipe for Chilean cabbage and avocado slaw by Martha Rose Shulman.

I was a bit annoyed that she doesn’t specify an amount of salt. Really? You can’t give us a general ballpark figure Martha? It’s not like you can salt it to taste, when you’re supposed to let the cabbage sit for an hour after adding the salt.

I ended up using 2 tsp. fine salt and it was too much. I had to rinse the cabbage and still the salad was quite salty.

The salad was fine. Not so exciting, but fine. It certainly was easy (at least if you have a food-processor to slice the cabbage).

I think if I make this again I’ll season it more like guacamole, with jalapenos, garlic, lime juice, and maybe cilantro.

Rating: B-
Derek: B-

Leave a Reply

