Almond meal and zucchini falafel

August 2, 2014 at 5:04 pm (Middle East / N. Africa, Summer recipes, unrated, Website / blog)


Even after making two zucchini breads, I still had a ton of zucchini left. I cooked some up with carrots and onions and used it as a topping for pasta along with fresh tomatoes and basil. It was tasty but for my next recipe I wanted to try something a little bit different. When I was looking for recipes that call for coconut flour, I had bookmarked this recipe for almond meal and zucchini falafel from the divaliciousrecipesinthecity.com blog. Unfortunately, I didn’t go back and re-read the head notes before making the recipe, I just started with the ingredient list. I saw “almond meal” and thought it was supposed to be ground almonds, but it turns out the recipe is actually calling for the fibrous, low-fat almond meal leftover from making homemade almond milk. Whoops! Maybe that’s why my falafel were such a disaster. But a surprisingly tasty disaster…

My notes: I followed the recipe carefully and left the batter in the fridge all day, figuring it would be ready by the time I got home for dinner. I heated up 3 tablespoons of olive oil in my cast iron skillet, figuring it would be deep enough for the falafels to fry. I let it get pretty hot (but not close to smoking), as I figured the falafels would immediately drop the temperature of the oil down. But oddly, when I added the falafel to the oil, the oil immediately turned dark brown, almost black. What had happened? It seemed like the falafel had at least partially dissolved into the oil, and the little bits of almond flour or coconut flour just started to burn? I wasn’t sure what to do. The oil didn’t seem that hot, and it wasn’t anywhere close to smoking. I just left the falafel to cook a bit longer, still on high heat, and when I tried turning one a few minutes later it was black underneath. It looked burnt to a crisp, but nothing smelled burnt. I flipped them all, and by this point all the oil had been absorbed into the falafel, and none was left for the second side to fry in. One side was black, and the rest of the “falafels” still seemed like raw, uncooked batter. Oy. What a disaster.

I thought I was going to have to throw them all out, but in the end we ate them all. The seasoning and flavor was excellent, with the perfect balance of spices and herbs. Of course, it didn’t hurt that they had absorbed all the olive oil in the pan! Still, they tasted just like falafel should taste. They were just black! Clearly I need to try this recipe again, using almond meal not almond flour from ground almonds. I wonder if it would also work with okara (the leftover soy pulp from making soy milk)? (Not that I make my own, but my mom does.)

Rating: ???

Derek: A- for flavor, B for blackness and lack of structural integrity

1 Comment

  1. Divalicious said,

    Hi, thanks for the link. I can see why your result was black with almond meal, instead of almond pulp! Hopefully another attempt will be better and I’m glad you enjoyed the flavours. Thanks for popping by though!

Leave a Reply

