Yam and Peanut Stew with Kale

November 9, 2014 at 1:14 pm (Beans, Beans and greens, Fall recipes, Middle East / N. Africa, One pot wonders, Root vegetables, soup, Uncategorized, unrated, Website / blog, Winter recipes)


My sister loves this recipe for a yam and peanut stew with kale, and has recommended it to me several times. She mentioned it again last week and coincidentally I had (almost) all the ingredients on hand (everything but the roasted and salted peanuts and the scallions). Hanaleah said that I could leave off both, since they’re just garnishes. So I decided to make it for dinner.

I liked the stew. I don’t think I would have known there were red lentils in it, if I hadn’t added them myself. And it wasn’t as peanutty as I expected (maybe the garnish would have helped), but it was reasonably tasty and seemed very warm and nourishing. It’s interesting that the kale is just wilted, not really cooked, so it retains a bit of crispness.

I didn’t love the recipe as much as my sister does, but it was pretty easy and tasted pretty good, so I think I will probably make it again. I wonder how well the recipe would freeze?

Update Oct 2015: I had sweet potatoes on hand, and had just seen kale in the market for the first time this year, so I decided to make this recipe. I thought Alma might enjoy it as well, so I left out the salt and the kale and blended some up for her. She wasn’t a big fan. Maybe it was too spicy for her? Derek and I also weren’t so excited about it. It was a fine one-pot meal, but we weren’t negotiating over the leftovers.

1 Comment

  1. hanaviolin11 said,

    I’m glad it turned out well! I think you would like it even better with the addition of crunchy peanuts!

Leave a Reply

