Chia pumpin pudding

November 6, 2015 at 11:13 pm (Alma's faves, Dessert, Pudding, unrated, Website / blog) ()


When we visited my Mom in June, she made a simple chia pudding with almond milk, which I really liked. It’s also vegan and raw. I liked it so much that when I got home I bought some chia seeds. But then of course I never got around to using them. When my mom came to visit in August, she discovered the unopened package, and made homemade almond milk and then used it to make me some more of her chia pudding. It was delicious. But making the almond milk was a pain, because my almonds didn’t peel easily. So for a second batch she tried making a version with hemp milk instead of almond milk. It was also good, but the hemp milk adds a pretty sharp grassy note. Alma ate both versions, but seemed to prefer the one with almond milk. Once my mom left I didn’t have the energy to make almond milk, so I bought some at the store and made another batch of chia almond milk pudding. Alma really liked it.  So I tried to find some more recipes using chia seeds, and I came across this recipe for pumpkin pie chia pudding.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup coconut milk or 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • A pinch of ground clove
  • 5 medjool dates, pits removed
  • 3 Tablespoons chia seeds

Instructions:

  1. Puree everything but the chia seeds in a blender until smooth, combined and thick. You may still see a few little bits of the dates, that‛s OK.
  2. Pour the mixture into a mason jar, and then stir in the chia seeds. Make sure to stir well to combine.
  3. Put the lid on the jar. Keep in the refrigerator overnight or for at least 4 hours.

My notes:

I used storebought almond milk, but I bet it would be great with coconut milk. I had small dates (not mejdool), so I used a few more than the recipe calls for. It was plenty sweet though, so next time I’d just use five of the small ones.

Both Alma and I enjoyed this pudding. I had to ration it out. I think Alma would have eaten a cup of it if I had let her! Maybe adding less dates next time will help with that.

1 Comment

  1. austingardener said,

    I am glad you posted. I am going to try the recipe with butternut squash instead of pumpkin. Reason being I have a plethora of butternut squash.

Leave a Reply

