Kasha casserole with mushrooms, parsnips, carrots, and chickpeas

November 10, 2016 at 2:38 pm (B_, Fall recipes, Grains, Peter Berley, Uncategorized, Winter recipes)


When my mom was visiting she made me kasha with mushrooms, and I quite enjoyed it. I have quite a bit of the toasted groats leftover, and so when I was looking for something to do with parsnips last night, I was excited to come across this recipe in Peter Berley’s Fresh Food Fast. It came out a bit soupy, but I really liked it!

I cut the oil down from 4 to 3 tablespoons, and used 1.5 teaspoons fine salt. I didn’t have any portobello mushrooms so I used 1 (200g?) package of crimini mushrooms as well as some shiitake mushrooms. Also, I used pre-toasted groats, even though the recipe doesn’t call for the buckwheat to be roasted.

I’m not sure what the texture of the kasha is supposed to be like. My kasha ended up very soft. The dish in general was quite soupy, with lots of liquid left unabsorbed at the bottom of the pan.

It made a lot. Derek and Alma and I all had it for dinner, I had it for lunch today, I froze about 2 cups of it, and I still have enough for another lunch. So 6 servings sounds about right to me.

I couldn’t taste fennel or caraway, and I accidentally forgot the coriander. But maybe the spices did add something, because the dish had a very savory, comfort-food flavor.

Derek didn’t like it at all, but he never likes buckwheat or kasha. I’m not sure how Alma felt about it. She didn’t eat much of it, but she also didn’t complain about it or try to give it back. Maybe she just wasn’t very hungry. I tried to give her some of the leftovers and she absolutely refused to touch them. But she’s not eating much these days, so I’m not sure how much to read into it.

I think 1.5 teaspoons of salt was a bit too much. Next time I’ll use 1.25 teaspoons of salt.

I served the casserole with a lemon-y salad made from the rest of the chickpeas, cucumber, tomato, and a bit of feta. The casserole was nice with some of the salad on top. The acid of the lemon juice helped brighten up the casserole a bit and the fresh veggies added a little crunch to an otherwise pretty soft dish.

This dish wasn’t super fast, but it wasn’t super slow either. I had to grind the spices, chop the onion and slice the carrots and parsnips and mushrooms, then add the kasha and boiling water and let it cook for 25 minutes. Not so bad for a one-pot supper with a grain, beans, and veggies — and 6 servings to boot.

1 Comment

  1. austingardener said,

    It doesn’t say anything in the recipe about toasting the buckwheat groats. HmmmI

Leave a Reply

