Red lentil and spinach pancakes

May 16, 2017 at 2:45 pm (Beans, Dark leafy greens, Uncategorized, unrated, Website / blog) ()


Alma does not like red lentils. She will happily eat brown lentils, green lentils, and black lentils, but if I give her a bite of red lentils she invariably spits them out. I think it’s a texture thing, so I thought I’d try this recipe from the Healthy Little Foodies blog for red lentil and spinach pancakes. The recipe is really simple — just soaked (not cooked) red lentils, garlic and spices, and fresh spinach.

I only soaked my lentils for 3 hours (not overnight) but nonetheless the pancakes came out well. The recipe doesn’t call for salt, but it definitely needs some. Even without much salt, Alma was eating the pancakes happily enough, until I brought out the cauliflower croquettes. Once she tried the croquettes she wouldn’t touch another lentil pancakes.

I thought the pancakes needed more seasoning, and the texture isn’t the most exciting ever, but given how easy the recipe is, I think I’ll be trying it again. Next time maybe with some cilantro and ginger? And jalapenos and onions?

This is really a bean recipe, not a vegetable recipe (since it only has 2 handfuls of spinach in it). Still, I liked the flecks of green that the spinach added.

Leave a Reply

