Broiled Portabella Mushrooms

December 24, 2007 at 7:04 pm (Miso, Moosewood, Quick weeknight recipe, unrated, Vegetable dishes) ()


This recipe is from Moosewood Restaurant Low-Fat Favorites. I made it many years ago and Derek has never forgotten it.  He occasionally suggests I make it again, and I’m finally getting around to it. Moosewood suggests serving the mushrooms over a bed of wilted spinach or other greens.

Turn oven to broil, and place an oven-proof pan on the top rack if the rack is greater than three inches from the broiler (I use my cast iron skillet). Carefully brush or wipe off any soil from:

  • 1 pound portabello mushrooms (about 4 medium)

Trim the tough portions of the stems and cut the mushrooms into 1/2-inch-thick slices. Lay the slices on a baking sheet. Whisk together:

  • 2 tsp. olive oil
  • 1 Tbs. light miso
  • 1 Tbs. balsamic vinegar
  • 2 Tbs. water (use much less! one tsp?)
  • 3 large cloves garlic, crushed

Drizzle the marinade over the mushrooms. Broil about 3 inches from the heat for about five minutes, until the mushrooms are browned and beginning to soften.

Servings: 2 main dish, 4 side dish

Update May 2016: I made this for dinner tonight, using 400g package of portobello mushrooms, but I forgot to cut them into slices. I just removed the stems and left them whole. I also used a 125g package of shiitakes mushrooms. The mushrooms turned out quite salty. They were tasty but probably had too much miso. Alma loved them though, probably because of the salt. She just kept asking for more and more. She didn’t seem to distinguish between the two types of mushrooms, even though texturally they were quite different. Derek didn’t care for them. He said the mushrooms had a slightly rubbier, dried out texture. I disagreed.

Leave a comment